Monday, 2 May 2016


Today’s Quote of the Day comes to us from late 18th to early 19th century German composer Ludwig van Beethoven:

“Music is the one incorporeal entrance into the higher world of knowledge which comprehends mankind but which mankind cannot comprehend.”

-Ludwig van Beethoven

Enjoy below the gorgeously erudite 2nd movement of Beethoven's Piano Concerto no. V; with French
pianist Hélène Grimaud and the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Estonian conductor Paavo Järvi:

Fun Fact:

The Piano Concerto no. V, Beethoven’s final concerto, is known colloquially as the “Emperor Concerto,” an epithet granted to the work after it’s composer by a Napoleonic soldier who had been stationed at Vienna on the occasion of the work’s premiere in the Austrian capital in February of 1812.

So innovative a composition was the concerto (Beethoven penned the work during Western Classical Music’s transitory period of Classical to Romantic and had offered some rather unconventional shifts in length and fluidity between movements), the soldier (who was an Officer), overcome by the beauty and originality of the piece, is said to have declared of the work “it is an emperor of a concerto!” and thus, a name was born.


No comments:

Post a Comment